OCEAN IMMERSIVE + Planning A Bass Strait Paddling Challenge (Adventure) for Cancer

The Zen of Ocean Ski Paddling and Beyond

Imagine gliding over the ocean’s surface, your paddle slicing through the water with a rhythmic beat, not always on a perfect count but full of rhythm none the less.

Each stroke propels you forward as you navigate the ever-changing seascape. This is more than just a physical challenge; it’s an exercise in mental acuity and emotional balance.

Welcome to the world of the Ocean, of the Zen of the Sea, of Flow State, and the Zone where you melt into the moment and immerse in flights of splendour – where athletes like ocean ski paddlers find their peak performance within a harmonious blend of effort, skill, and concentration.

Learning & Community

Balancing Act: Internal vs External Focus

One key aspect of maintaining a state of calmness amongst the sometimes chaotic, and ballistic nature of the ocean is balancing internal focus (such as body awareness and skill execution) with external awareness (like adapting to environmental conditions). For instance, when out on open water during an ocean ski paddling session, being attuned not only to my movements but also how those movements interact dynamically with waves and wind is so critical. At times it can feel overwhelming and this is when the real test starts. Holding a line of concentration, calmness, and alertness seems to bring the present moment into the sharpest and most vivid clarity. Its like a lens, being cleaned, and all of a sudden seeing the moment you are in with a depth and breadth is surreal.

This delicate dance between internal composure and external adaptation triggers something that ensures being and remaining present in each moment is possible. This is being fully absorbed yet slightly leaning towards what comes next without being derailed by it, or chasing it, or wanting it, or fearing it, seems like a key to the door.

This notion of being in the moment, of flow, and zen of the ocean doesn’t mean its just happens or I can find it all the time. However the immersive nature of the ocean does provide the opportunity for these experiences so often and this is why I have come to love the ocean and in particular the activities which I am grateful to be able to explore out there.

The Antidote

Let me be clear. I have had my struggles, the ups and downs of life like everyone. When I was young surfing always seemed to provide a special place to escape life’s worries. A place to explore, be free and just be myself. Life these days seems at times more full on and challenging, and like many I overthink things, I procrastinate, I worry, I ruminate, and at times stress really does impact me greatly.

Hence why I have loved learning to paddle an ocean surf ski in the last 3 years. It’s been amazing to have to work through all the stages of learning. It’s humbling to start from scratch and struggle to learn and find your way. That’s been the experience with paddling and so I have thrown myself into it fully and over the last 2 years the benefits and rewards ave been immense and obvious.

Ocean ski paddle as been the antidote for so many things I was feeling and being challenged by and now I find my self seeking its comfort as a way to access wonderful moments of flow, and what I would imagine zen like to be. My partner and teacher is the sea and ocean, and through spending times experiencing broad ranges of conditions I have come to realise I love the environment that engages all my senses, and tests all be capabilities and skills, and truely challenges my emotional states and sense of being.

The Opportunity & Love of the Coast

I live between our home in Melbourne and the farm at Cape Paterson. Inverloch and Cape Paterson was where I grew up. This coastline and the ocean that kisses it, laps at it and often rages against it is my home.

Many years ago when my Mum passed away I think it spurred me on to ensure didn’t waste my life and any opportunities that are possible. More recently my Dad passed and he introduced me to the ocean, the surf, the coastline from Wilsons Prom to Phillip Island in particular, and he introduced me to a love of the many of the beaches, reefs, channels, inlets, rivers, cliffs, and Bays between.

My challenge has been to learn to do paddling an develop to the point where I could take on a challenge that connects with making the most of opportunities and living and exploring the ocean and coastal areas of thew Bass Coast.

This has led to the idea of doing the Bass Strait Crossing, and finding like minded people who are keen to immerse in the adventure and share an amazingly grounded and fulfilling experience together.

Embracing The Bass Strait Paddling Challenge

With all this in mind the adventurer in me has decided I am keen to put all this into practice and while plenty have navigated the Bass Strait, via sailing, boating, kayaking, surf boats etc it will be the first time I do this and while I am excited I am also nervous.

Embracing The Bass Strait Paddling Challenge: Making the most of every day & Love of the Coast

I live between our home in Melbourne and the farm at Cape Paterson. Inverloch and Cape Paterson was where I grew up. This coastline and the ocean that kisses it, laps at it and often rages against it is my home.

Many years ago when my Mum passed away I think it spurred me on to ensure didn’t waste my life and any opportunities that are possible. More recently my Dad passed and he introduced me to the ocean, the surf, the coastline from Wilsons Prom to Phillip Island in particular, and he introduced me to a love of the many of the beaches, reefs, channels, inlets, rivers, cliffs, and Bays between.
My challenge has been to learn to do paddling an develop to the point where I could take on a challenge that connects with making the most of opportunities and living and exploring the ocean and coastal areas of thew Bass Coast.

This has led to the idea of doing the Bass Strait Crossing, and finding like minded people who are keen to immerse in the adventure and share an amazingly grounded and fulfilling experience together.

Embracing The Bass Strait Paddling Challenge

It’s all about putting into practice two amazing elements that drive this kind of challenge for me. A love of the ocean and a deep sense that I don’t want to waste a day. Where does this come from?

My Why

When I was 11 years old we lost my mum to cancer. It was hard to comprehend at the time and it’s probably driven me a lot more that I have realised. Years after my mum’s death I was able to become involved in Tour de Cure and not only ride of tours and take on some great challenges to help raise awareness and critical funds to help find a cure. A few years ago I lost my dad to cancer and so you could say that like many in the TDC family I am motivated to what I can to help raise funds that can be directed to vital research to find a cure for future generations. So after loosing both my parents to Cancer, I do it to continue to raise money for Tour de Cure, and Cancer research and local initiatives that truely make a difference. After almost 20 years supporting Tour de Cure, were I have enjoyed raising funds for Signature Tours, 24hour Cycling Challenges, Cobbled Nights and events I find myself always interested in raising funds and doing so in way that challenges me to get off the couch and get out there.

The challenge

The Bass Strait, via sailing, boating, kayaking, surf boats etc is a significant challenge, and its been done before but it will be my first time doing an adventure at sea like this and a true life fulfilling experience. Another reason I will be doing it is to continue my learning journey and ongoing self discovery and accessing these wonderful states of being I get from ocean paddling. I will be doing it to share the experience with other like minded paddlers in our group, and this feels similar to all those Olympic Champaigns in team, bonded by purpose and experiences together.

Summary of Paddle Training Plan for Bass Strait Challenge

Extreme Conditions: The strait is notorious for its rough seas, strong currents, and unpredictable weather. These conditions make kayaking across it a formidable challenge, even for experienced paddlers.

Long Distance: The distance across Bass Strait is approximately 240 kilometres (150 miles). This distance, combined with the demanding conditions, requires exceptional endurance and skill.

Safety and Preparedness: Such a journey requires thorough preparation, including understanding the weather patterns, having the right equipment, and being prepared for emergencies. Safety is a paramount concern due to the isolation and potential for rapidly changing conditions.

Objective:

Prepare for a 5 to 7 day ocean ski kayak challenge across the Bass Strait, covering 40-60 km per day.

Planned Window for the Challenge:

Mid March to Mid April weather permitting and long range forecast assessed from start of March.

Course from Tasmania to Victoria:

Planned paddle will be from near Launceston to King Island and onto Wilsons Prom and then across towards Melbourne.

Strategy to prepare:

Adhere to a progressive training plan with a focus on building endurance and technique, peaking at 115km per week, and ensuring no more than a 10% increase in volume week-to-week.

Training Plan Overview:

  • Weeks 1-4 (Foundation): Begin with 30km per week, focusing on moderate-paced paddling and technique. DONE
  • Weeks 5-8 (Volume Build-Up): Increase to approximately 51km per week, introducing long paddles on Sundays. DOING
  • Weeks 9-12 (Intensity and Endurance): Further increase to 68km per week, with longer sessions and continued focus on technique.
  • Weeks 13-16 (Peak Volume and Taper): Peak at 115km in week 15, followed by a taper in week 16 to ensure readiness and recovery.

Recent Paddle – Lap of Phillip Island 62km

Part of the preparation is to make sure I am able to spend 6 plus hours on the ocean ski and to still feel like I could back it up another day. Below is the recent paddle we did around Phillip Island that I did with Pete Bland. We consider the weather and ensured we had all our gear sorted. Then on the day we set off working to ensure we looked after each other and got around the challenging sections of the Island and kept moving, drinking and eating what we needed to stay fuelled for the 6 hours.

Here is the strava file of the session: https://www.strava.com/activities/10509152837

Paddling across the Bass Strait is a massive endeavour!

We’ve got the boats and roughly 3 months, let’s focus on what’s next.

  1. Training: Given the distance, what’s your current weekly paddling mileage?
    • Attempting to average 50 to 60km per week for 3 months prior
    • Peak distances in single paddle to be above 60km and Peak average for a week 140km plus Progressing
  2. Safety Gear: Got GPS, flares, and a communication device for emergencies?
    • GPS, PLB, Flare, Tracking, PFD, Leg Leash, Safety Boat Check
  3. Route: Will you have a support vessel or any stops along the way?
    • Yes the plan is to have a safety boat in support
  4. Nutrition: Any dietary considerations for such a long paddle?
    • Water, nuts are my go to and seem to work really well
  5. Mental Prep: How do you handle stress and fatigue during long exertions?
    • Visualisation about worst case scenarios, and simulations / tests of paddling and in ocean conditions that means being in the boat for 5hrs plus
    • Read up on long distance paddling
    • Seek feedback from others
  6. Team: Is this a solo trip or do you have a team?
    • Aiming to paddling in a group of 4 to 10 people
  7. Logistics: How will you handle transport to Tasmania and from Victoria?
    • Work in progress
  8. Trial Runs: Any chance for practice runs in conditions similar to the Strait?
    • Being based on Cape Paterson the opportunities to paddling in similar conditions is good
    • Phillip Island Lap Planned DONE
    • Wilsons Prom Planned
  9. Rest: Do you have a tapering strategy?
    • Will make sure last 10 days before I lower volumes and fuel up for the trip
  10. The Adventure: Other than finishing, any specific goals or milestones?
    • Keep everyone safe
    • Do it in the fewest days we can manage given the group
    • Enjoy getting in Flow

Planning

Draft plan that aligns with requirements, including a peak week of 115km and adhering to a 10% weekly increase.

Weeks 1-4: Foundation

  • Mon: 10km paddle, moderate
  • Wed: 10km paddle, technique focus
  • Fri: 10km paddle, easy
  • Total Weekly Distance: 30km

Weeks 5-8: Volume Build-Up

  • Mon: 12km, moderate
  • Wed: 12km, technique focus
  • Fri: 12km, easy
  • Sun: 15km, long paddle
  • Total Weekly Distance: 51km

Weeks 9-12: Intensity and Endurance

  • Mon: 16km, moderate
  • Wed: 16km, technique focus
  • Fri: 16km, easy
  • Sun: 20km, long paddle
  • Total Weekly Distance: 68km

Weeks 13-16: Peak Volume and Taper

  • Week 13
    • Mon: 20km, moderate
    • Wed: 20km, technique focus
    • Fri: 20km, easy
    • Sun: 25km, long paddle
    • Total: 85km
  • Week 14
    • Mon: 23km, moderate
    • Wed: 23km, technique focus
    • Fri: 23km, easy
    • Sun: 30km, long paddle
    • Total: 99km
  • Week 15 (Peak)
    • Mon: 25km, moderate
    • Wed: 25km, technique focus
    • Fri: 25km, easy
    • Sun: 40km, long paddle
    • Total: 115km
  • Week 16 (Taper)
    • Mon: 20km, moderate
    • Wed: 20km, technique
    • Fri: 20km, easy
    • Sun: 25km, long paddle then taper
    • Total: 85km

This plan ensures a gradual increase in volume and intensity, culminating in a peak week followed by a taper period. Always listen to my body and adjust as necessary, especially for such an intense challenge.

Final Thoughts

I am excited and somewhat nervous about the challenge. Doing it to help raise funds for Cancer through Tour de Cure is a point of meaning, and doing it potentially with an amazing group of like minded people will be special.

When I imagine the possibilities I find my self balancing anticipation and a sense of ramped up processing. I just find concepts like a challenge of this nature to act as an agitator of my being. To explore further my love of the ocean and to continue to reflect and act on that deep internal driver to make the most of everyday is like a gift.

Leave a comment

Discover more from DREW GINN

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading